15 November 2016

2016 Lawrie Trophy Winners - Lesmahagow Ladies

Members of the Lesmahagow Ladies Team Being Presented with the Lawrie Trophy by Lanarkshire Ice Rink Club president Anne Hood
l to r Jane Armstrong, Nora Jackson, Alison Taylor, Anne Hood, Margaret Levack and Rhona McAlister
Making up the Team were Ann Howie, Rebecca Gardner and Elizabeth Miller

Tom Dickson Rosebowl Winners - Avondale Heather

 2016 Tom Dickson Rosebowl Winners Avondale Heather
l to r  Ian Archer, Graeme Allan, Archie Kerr and Alex Fleming

Biggar & Upper Clydesdale Bonspiel Winners - Dippool

Some of the Victorious Dippool Members with the Biggar and Upper Clydesdale Bonspiel Trophy
l to r Netta Merry, Ian Orr, Jim Sandilands, Eric Warren, Drew Walker and John Tough
Graham Walker and Philip Marsh made up the teams

Presentation to Margaret Richardson

After the Opening Bonspiel a Presentation was made to Margaret Richardson who played lead in Jackie Lockhart's victorious World Senior Ladies Team.
Unfortunately Isobel Hannan was on holiday and couldn't be present.

Opening Bonspiel 2016

Opening Bonspiel Winners

Jack Thomson, Alastair Smith and Christine Maxwell
(Gillian Haggart not in photo)

And at the Other End of the Heap !!

Jim Motion, Jack Hood, Alastair Hamilton and Lillias Tennant

22 September 2016

Message From Our Presidents


As your newly elected President of the Ice Rink Club I am delighted to say that we have plenty to look forward to during the coming season.  We will host our ever popular Burns Supper in February but we are also hosting a Turkey Shoot (December) and a Race Night (March) to raise funds for the Ice Rink’s 50th birthday celebrations next season.  Yes-we face the BIG 5-0!  As ever, I’m sure we can count on your continued support for the social events as socialising and curling certainly go together.
We all enjoy the wonderful facilities at Hamilton Ice Rink and I would encourage you to think about our facilities for private functions.
I look forward to meeting, and curling, with you during the forthcoming season.  Have a good season

Anne Hood

May I extend a warm welcome to all curlers for the 2016/17 season at Lanarkshire Ice Rink. For any curler there is a full program of events throughout the year including coaching sessions for beginners through to experienced, wheel chair and stick users. I look forward to meeting you all having fun curling at Lanarkshire Ice Rink.

Drew Moffat,  President Hamilton Ice Sports Club

2 September 2016

13 April 2016

Rotary Golden Jubilee Trophy

2016 Rotary Golden Jubilee Trophy Winners
John King, Alex Fleming, Willie Baird skip and Willie Craig

Hamilton Advertiser Mixed Trophy

Hamiton Advertiser Mixed Trophy Winners East Kilbride CC
Back i to r  Paul Murray 3rd and Norman Whitfield lead
Front l to r Amy Toal 2nd and Anne Craig skip

17 March 2016

Boyd Senior Finals Day 2016

The Semi Final line up for the 2016 Boyd Seniors saw Wishaw, skipped by Bob Parry take on East Kilbride & Haremyres, skipped by Jackie Craig and Bathgate, skipped by Bob Smillie up against Dippool skipped by Jim Sandilands. Both Wishaw and Bathgate got off to fast starts and dominated their semi finals.
In the evening 3rd/4th playoff game East Kilbride opened up a 6 shot lead after only 3 ends. Back came Dippool however, narrowing the deficit to just 1 shot with 2 ends to play. A score of 2 in the penultimate end steadied the EK ship however and Jackie Craig's rink finished in 3rd place overall with a score of 8 shots to 6.
The final was even more a game of two halves ! With only 3 ends to play Wishaw lead by 6 shots only to lose a three, a two and then another fatal two in the final end thus gifting the game to Bathgate.
Winners. Margaret Robertson 3rd, Eric Richardson of sponsors Boyd & Co, Bob Smillie skip, Norman Birrell lead and Jack Robertson 2nd

Runners Up. Scott Lumsden 3rd, Bob Parry skip, Bill Robison 2nd, Eric Richardson and Brian Cunningham lead.

Lanarkshire Ice Rink is indebted to Boyd & Co, Insurance Brokers for their continued sponsorship of this very popular competition.

15 March 2016

Super League Finals Day 2016

This seasons Super League Semi Finals brought together the two youngest teams in the competition and also two of the more experienced teams.
Game one saw Luke Carson play Kyle Waddell. Although Kyle's team were the undoubted favorites, Luke held his nerve throughout the game, winning 3 shots to 2.
The other Semi final paired the Avondale Heather rink skipped by Hugh Neilson against Stirlings Neil Murray. This turned out to be another very close contest with Hugh, one up playing the last end without the hammer, stealing one shot for victory.
In the final, a steal of two shots in the 3rd end gave Hugh a 3 shot lead which he never relinquished, winning 6 shots to 3.
The Runners up were Luke Carson skip, Scott Gibson 3rd, George McConnell 2nd and Iain Waddell lead
 The winning team with the Super League Trophy
Robert Kirkland 2nd, Hugh Neilson skip, Stewart Anderson lead and Don Frame 3rd

Bob Mackintosh Trophy

Twelve teams contested this years final Sunday competition for the Bob Mackintosh Trophy. The competition is played over 3 six end games with the winner being the rink that has scored the most ends. After some very close and exciting games it was Luke Carson's team which lifted the trophy.
John Carson 2nd, Luke Carson skip, Scott Lumsden lead and Scott Gibson 3rd with Hamilton Ice Sports Club President, Drew Moffat

8 March 2016

2016 Presidents Plate

The annual invitation bonspiel for the President's plate was held on Friday 4th March. 48 curlers took part in an afternoon of fun and friendship followed by an excellent meal.The Ice Rink is indebted to Presidents John Warnock and Drew Moffat for all their work in ensuring the success of the day.
Our picture shows Hamilton Ice Sports Club President, John Warnock with the winning rink.
Tom Allan skip, Audrey King lead, Richard Fergusson 2nd and Isobel Waddell 3rd.

2016 Galloway Trophy Winners

Upperward of Lanarkshire Curling Club Galloway Trophy
Winners 2016 Coulter CC
Jack Wight 3rd, Hugh Jackson Skip, George Moffat lead and Robert Stewart 2nd

1 March 2016

Biggar & District and Upper Clydesdale Province - Presidents Cup Winners, Douglas CC

David Clarkston, Doug Telfer, Graham Coke and Colin Graham

RCCC Rink Championship - Lanarkshire Qualifiers, Coulter CC

Our Representatives at the RCCC Rink Championship Finals
Forfar 4th - 6th March 2016
Andrew Clark, Bill Marshall, Bryce Smith skip and Jack Wight

TB Dick Trophy Winners - Coulter C.C.

 Alan Jackson lead, Colin Wight skip, Robert Stewart 2nd and Andrew Clark 3rd.

18 February 2016

2016 Mixed Invitation Weekend

Winners 2016 Mixed Invitation Weekend
Kate Henderson lead, Grieg Henderson skip, Alastair McIntyre 2nd and Brenda McIntyre 3rd

Lanarkshire Province Bonspiel 2016

Winners of the Lanarkshire Province Bonspiel were Wishaw CC

The Wishaw '2' Team with the Trophy
l to r Alastair Black, Luke Carson, Bob Parry and Peter Harding

The Wishaw '1' Team comprised Scott Lumsden, Vicky Lumsden, Bill Robison and Brian Cunningham

Ladies Open Championship

Winners l to r  Margo Smith lead, Marion Craig 3rd, Margaret Richardson skip and Carole Marsh 2nd

Runners Up ( Gourock Ladies) Val Marshall, Wilma McIntyre, Lesley Smith and Annette Blair

3rd Place (Kinross)  Liz Glennie, Maggie Scott, Fiona DeVries and Susan Scougal

4th Place Alison Taylor, Jackie Craig, Isobel Waddell skip and Jane McLaren

A huge thanks to Glenmuir / Sunderland who sponsored the competition for the first time and came along on the day offering help and advice to the Ladies who had an interest in their sportswear.
Also a big thanks to all the teams that took part